Rashel Taylor Named Recipient of Leadership Council Award

Rashel Taylor Named Recipient of Leadership Council Award

The Community Foundation of Howard County has announced that Rashel Taylor is the recipient of the foundation’s 2023 Leadership Council Award. Taylor was presented with the Leadership Council Award at the foundation’s December 5 Annual Dinner & Celebration of Philanthropy.

The annual Leadership Council Award recognizes a next generation person (25-45 year old) who serves as a member of a nonprofit board in Howard County and has exemplified leadership and commitment to the organization and to the community. Nominated by the emerging leader’s organization, a grant of $1,000 is made to the nonprofit in the young leader’s name.

Taylor is a board member for the Columbia Housing Center. Nominated by CHC’s board chair, Ian Kennedy, and executive director, Jessamine Duvall, Rashel has been a member of the CHC board of directors since 2021.

“Since joining the board, Rashel has always been willing to step in and help in any way possible to make CHC successful,” said Duvall. “She also serves as one of the organizations’ representatives to the Horizon Foundation Racial Equity Collaborative, which requires a monthly, four-hour session and additional responsibilities. Rashel serves as the board’s “conscience” ensuring that the organization remains focused on its mission and its commitment to racial equity. In addition, Rashel volunteered for the hiring committee for CHC’s new executive director earlier this year, committing extra time and energy to this process.”

Taylor has worked in Howard County for over a decade, most recently as the executive director of OhanaHC. She has a wealth of experience and knowledge in working with youth, racial equity, non-profit organizations and community engagement. She has a passion for bridging communities together by finding ways to utilize their gifts to support one as well as a passion for developing and strengthening organizational processes.

The Community Foundation’s Leadership Council was created in 2008 to extend the foundation’s outreach to the community, to enhance the foundation’s asset development capacity and to draw upon the knowledge, abilities and experience of key friends of the foundation. The founding members are the former chairs of the Board of Directors and invited stakeholders. Its membership consists of 15-20 persons with a demonstrated commitment to the foundation’s mission and a willingness to use their time and talents to further that mission.

Leadership Council Award History

2023   Rashel Taylor, Columbia Housing Center

2022   Jessica Zuniga, Bridges to Housing Stability

2021   Matthew Plantz, Howard County Autism Society

2020   Erika Strauss-Chavarria, Columbia Community Care

2017   Yashica Maclin, Community Action Council

2016   Laura Yoo, HoCoPoLitSo

2015   Steve Poynot, Howard County Arts Council

2014   Alice Giles, League of Women Voters

2012   Laura Weathersbee, Domestic Violence Center

2011   Tom Coale, Voices for Children